Change is Bad

I always believe that change is good. So, when I heard my mom had to move to other school, I was excited. Moreover, her new school is a leading vocational school in hospitality. I thought, “This is great. Finally she gets the best school and students to teach.

Unfortunately, this transfer, or what they call ‘mutation’ has negative stamps all over it. Those who are transferred are considered worthless or maybe pain in the ass by headmaster of the old school.

That is weird. My mom is loved by her co-workers and especially her students. She gets a lot of presents and thank you notes from the inspired students, even from the alumni. She also gets along with other teachers. She coordinates English teachers team. All those people are willing to give positive testimonials about her, proven by the rave going in her old school.

Not to mention her achievements. She got the highest TOEIC scores at school.. She trained many English debate teams and many other competition. They won most of them.

The worst part is, she didn’t get a desk or cubicle in her new school. Oh men. Come on. You are one of the best school in Surabaya and you can’t get a desk for 1 teacher. Give me a break.

Surely, those things make her feel kind of down in the dump.

After I know the downside of being transferred, I feel kind of burned up. I am not angry about my mom undergoing a mutation. I’ll say it is inevitable. What I hate is the fact that why there should be a negative stamp on mutation. What kind of policy is that? Who makes that call?

At first I planned to criticize the policy by writing opinion letter in newspaper (hoping anyone is willing to publish :p), but then I thought back. Well, mutation also happens (way a lot) in other institutions. Small mistakes, and Mr XYZ will find himself drowning and serving in a remote area. Due to that broadly known tradition (without considering whether it is bad or good), I cancel my plan. I write it in a more personal and informal way in here, instead.

Maybe this writing won’t get anywhere. I am not sure anymore why I should write anything. Maybe I just want to defend my mom’s honor. You know, I grow up watching her work her tail off to perform her best. She buckles down even at midnight in order to prepare her materials. Also, in her fifties, she is still willing and eager to learn about IT & computer while her other friends just give up. Her determination is one to admire.

She has worked that hard to teach. And it pays off. Her students and colleagues respect her. I think that is the most important thing. In the end, people who rate teachers’ performance are the students. Sure, there must be people who don’t like her personally or hate what she does. Well, you can’t please everybody. As long as those little warm gifts and thank you notes are on her table, we should be grateful.

Besides, remember At-Taubah: 9?

And say (O Muhammad SAW) “Do deeds! Allah will see you deeds, and (so will) His Messenger and the believers. And you will be brought back to the All-Known of the unseen and the seen. Then He will inform you of what you used to do.”

As long as we have Allah, we’re gonna be find. I’m sure she will perform as well as she did back then. And sure, she will inspire her new friends and students along the way. Bismillah.

Happy birthday, Mom.

May you always find serenity and serendipity wherever you are.

Tinggalkan Balasan

